Rally Cycling completes their 2021 selection

Rally Cycling announced Ben King as their last signing. He is one of the experienced riders from the WorldTour who signed for the team this transferwindow, also Joey Rosskopf. The other rider in the team with WorldTour experience is former duck Nathan Brown who has been with the team since 2019.

Ben King won 2 Vuelta stages, but unfortunately winning a Vuelta stage does more bad than good for your career. Vuelta stage winner Bert-Jan Lindeman is not getting a contract extension at Jumbo-Visma and neither does Sander Armee at Lotto-Soudal.

Another key rider in their squad next year is Arvid de Kleijn. The 26 years old Dutch sprinter. He does well in pure sprints but can also do well in the Belgian classics on .1 and .Pro level. This year he got third in the Gooikse Pijl for example. He has only signed a 1-year contract so their plans with him don’t seem longterm.

Speaking about longterm, Magnus Sheffield future looks bright. Only 18 and already securing a ProTour contract. That’s not just because he is from the States. 3rd in the WC Junior Road Race last year. Just behind Simmons and Martinelli. Remember his name because it might not be long before we see him shining on the highest level.

Another honorable mention is climber Keegan Swirbul who doesn’t seem to be able to make the last step needed to start winning some races. He is still only 25 though. He doesn’t come with the wealth of experience Rob Britton (36) has, who is going into his 5th season at Rally Cyling.

Complete team (alphabetical):

  1.  BASSETT Stephen (25)
  2.  BRITTON Rob (36)
  3.  BROWN Nathan (29)
  4.  CARPENTER Robin (28)
  5.  COTÉ Pier-André (23)
  6.  DAL-CIN Matteo (29)
  7.  DE KLEIJN Arvid (26)
  8.  DE VOS Adam (27)
  9.  JOYCE Colin (26)
  10.  KING Ben (31)
  11.  MANNION Gavin (29)
  12.  MURPHY Kyle (29)
  13.  ORONTE Emerson (30)
  14.  ROSSKOPF Joey (31)
  15.  SHEFFIELD Magnus (18)
  16.  SWIRBUL Keegan (25)
  17.  ZUKOWSKY Nickolas (22)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *